DC

it got really foggy out this evening, by Washington standards. so I rode my bike down to the Anacostia! hooray for evening bike rides!

I can’t speak for how feasible riding my bike down to the Anacostia would have been, say, fifteen years ago. but one of the things that sticks out about this city, I think, is how rapidly it has changed during that time. the crime rate has dropped dramatically. there have been substantial demographic shifts. there has been steady construction for years. and the result is that all of this, everything you see here, it is new.

not brand new. it’s not completely false, like the back lot of a movie studio. and I say this, despite the fact that I wasn’t here myself fifteen years ago. but from what I’ve been told — from what I’ve been told, man — it has changed drastically. and I believe it. Washington even feels new, I say … or at least the Washington I’ve been exposed to does.

now, maybe you would call this new community rootless, if you wanted to be a dick about it. and that accusation wouldn’t be untrue. but if you instead wanted to be an optimist, maybe you’d argue that the roots are still taking hold, and there will be more to this consortium of yuppies and hipsters that I swim in than just skyrocketing real estate prices, overpriced beers, organic produce, creeping gentrification. maybe it has yet to blossom.

here’s to hoping for some goddang blossoms, then.

anywho. my brother and his family just purchased a home down there in southeast near the river, and will be moving into their home in just a few days. their house is being built as I type. the sod in the yard hasn’t been laid yet, and right now in the row of houses that contains their home all of the shades are up in the windows and the lights are on. you can look inside these empty rooms, and if you stand back in the street you can see the whole facade lit up. they look inviting, and I’m sure they can’t wait to get in.

but the real gem of this new neighborhood is the park. the riverfront park is only a few blocks past their new house, and I like it down there a lot — especially at night, because this is when it’s empty of people. and not in a desolate way, but in that it’s a nice respite from the city. you’ve got to feel me a little bit; this goddamn place, full of taxis and government and bullshit is noisy and crowded, and I appreciate the chance for outdoor, public quiet every once in a while.

so if you feel me, then take note because this place will fill up. as more people move down to this fast-developing part of town, with its own train stop and baseball stadium and infant condos and rowhouses galore, it’s only a matter of time before this quiet park is teeming with people at all hours too.

but this hasn’t happened yet. I got lucky tonight. the Anacostia was still, and the fog drowned the noise from the Nationals’ stadium, which is right there along the river. the Phillies were in town this evening, and it must have been the middle of the seventh inning stretch, because as I rolled up to the guardrail I heard, carried quite clearly through the soup on thousands of voices, “take me out to the ball game.”

and that was pretty cool, man. and this blog entry is terrible and disjointed and forced, but oh lord do I need the writing practice. I really, really do. but okay, let’s wrap it up. good night.

