I’m a regular Leonard Maltin

the story will come in parts, I feel. gimme a couple of days yet.

I just watched “A Fistful of Dollars.”

I would imagine that in this day and age, a lot of people don’t like westerns. fair enough. but if you’re going to watch one, this particular one isn’t such an awful one to settle on, what with its wanton violence and ample cliches. it’s among those movies where it would take some doing, some focused effort, to count the number of onscreen deaths. Eastwood is a deadeye with his pistol. and he slays a lot of cowboy gangster banditos.

I will say, though, that I dig action movies from fifty years ago — god dang, that’s actually about right, it says here “A Fistful of Dollars” was made in ’64.  but yes. I dig them. and I’ve been on a Clint Eastwood kick recently, matter of fact. fifty years ago, that now-cranky old bastard was in his wheelhouse. so I watched “Kelley’s Heroes” not too long ago, and earlier still I watched “Where Eagles Dare,” which is the one where Richard Burton wrestles with two Germans  on top of a gondola in the Austrian alps while he tries to escape from a nazi spy castle. yeah, you’re right it is legit. I bet you can’t guess who gets the pin.

it has been very warm out here lately, warm enough that it feels like we skipped a season. it’s been in the seventies for the past few days, and there’s been an early bloom. I was kind of looking forward to spring, but I don’t know if there’s anyone I can really blame for the weather. who do you blame for the weather? where can you register your complaint?

2 comments so far

  1. Anonymous on

    Register your complaint with Exxon Mobil.

  2. Anonymous on

    Clint Eastwood= Skeleton with skin stretched too tight over it.
    He looked that way 50 years ago too.


Comments are closed.