how important is healthcare?

by Mr Smith, coming to you live from the crossroads of America

Well it’s pretty fucking important to me.  Maybe because it has something to do with the fact that if I lost my government insurance and had to buy private insurance, I would be laughed at and shown the door.  Because, you know, who the hell wants to insure someone who has both a serious chronic liver and colon disease?  I’m a guaranteed medical expense, a reliable cost, and surefire red mark on their balance sheet.

I, and millions like me, am fucked if we are unlucky enough to find ourselves jobless.  There are millions who are stuck in shitty jobs only because they are afraid of losing insurance.  Of course, even if you are in tip-top condition, buying private insurance is still impossible for most because it’s so damn expensive.

I don’t usually make idealistic requests for civic duty, because just like you, I have grown quite resigned to my apathy and laziness for most things.  Sure, I might have a passionate argument on the need for universal healthcare, but you don’t see me volunteering every ounce of my spare time or taking to the streets in order to get it done.  BUT, one very easy thing I can do, and have done, and am asking you to do, is take 5 minutes out of your  life and write and call your federal Senators/Congressman periodically to tell them that they have to have to have a public option in any healthcare legislation.

I’m assuming I don’t have to convince any of you on the merits of government involvement in a broken healthcare market, but if you happen to sway conservative on healthcare issues and wish to fight for the private insurance industry, please let me know and I’ll make you look like a fucking dumbass when I get through with you.

Now, I wouldn’t ask you to waste 5 minutes of your very important lives (except for Josh, god know he has nothing but time on his deadbeat hands), but as someone who works for elected legislators, I can tell you with my own experience that lawmakers who are on the fence fall on the side of constituent pressure.  Their desire to keep their seats is the only thing that can override special interests or any type of fake bullshit “philosophy” of “free-market” healthcare.  When legislators’ phone banks and emails start to flood, they do listen; they’ve seen too many colleagues get voted out of office for them not to.

So, here we are.  The legislation being drafted in the next few weeks will most likely be our new national healthcare policy.  I don’t think I’m alone in having a choice to quit a shitty job (Matt) and not have to worry about being without insurance.  There has to be safety net, and while I would prefer to have a one-payer system, I’m a realist and understand that’s not going to fly.  So, I’m throwing my weight behind a true public option along the lines of Medicare.  I’m asking you to call your federal Senators/Congressman and tell them that your vote depends on it.  If you’re really cool, you’ll tell your family and friends to do the same.

http://www.usa.gov/Contact/Elected.shtml

Thanks,

Mike

2 comments so far

  1. Anonymous on

    http://sanders.senate.gov/

    I liked this guy before.. he’s advocating single payer…. why won’t that fly?

    and when the hell are you gonna be in town again?

  2. Smith on

    I might be there for the 4th of July weekend. If this is Andrew, when are you going to the West Bank? Sign your damn name fool.


Comments are closed.