taken

there is a hot dog vendor on the mall.
I have heard about this guy, or guys like him: there’s a dude who sells doughnuts in front of the library, I am told, but I’ve never seen any of these people. I was walking back from yoga yesterday (we’re back in business and still painfully inflexible, baby) and, not unlike witnessing a sunrise on a cool, dewey morning in the Berkshires, the hot dog cart rose in front of me, in front of city hall. and on its sign in elegant sharpie, it read: Extra Cheese, $1.
yes, I know, that does sounds wonderful. it was. so I got a chili cheese dog. that guy, this man who makes a living on selling hot dogs, he is my man. I would love to have my own hot dog cart.
but naw, I ain’t got the schoolin’ for that.

I went up to my dad’s house for Easter on Sunday, which was not nearly as bad as I might make it out to be. I ate a lot of deviled eggs, and ate a bunch of ham sandwiches. and I watched television, read a book, and the newspaper.
the Post has a sunday commentary section called Outlook, which had a very interesting article in it advocating the legalization of reefer. the short of it is: the War on Drugs has turned into a legitimate drug war, and something the United States can’t continue to just throw cash at, especially when facing a recession.
in the same paper was another article on the DEA’s recent announcement that it will not raid medical marijuana dispensaries if state law deems it legal. like in California. so now a cottage industry is springing up with alacrity. it was a large piece, and there was one part that really stood out:

  Marijuana use is widespread — government surveys show that 100 million Americans have smoked pot or its resin, hashish, in their lifetimes, and 25 million have done so in the past year. Yet polls show that the public is still wary of legalization. As President Obama recently said when asked about legalizing marijuana, “I don’t think that’s a good strategy to grow our economy.”
  But in California, pot is such a booming growth industry that lawmakers are being asked to consider its potential as a salve to the state’s financial woes. Betty Yee, chairman of the California State Board of Equalization, endorsed a bill in February to regulate the estimated $14 billion marijuana market, citing the state’s budget problems. California currently collects $18 million in sales taxes from marijuana dispensaries, and Yee said a regulated pot trade would bring in $1.3 billion.

$1.3 billion! god damn, do pot heads have a lot of money.
it’s gonna happen someday. it’s not worth the number of people that the drug trade kills to keep reefer illegal. then, Mexico wouldn’t have a full-blown insurgency taking place in its northern deserts. probably fewer beheadings, too.  
I think I’m gonna subscribe to the Post. I buy the motherfucker all the time as I like having a paper in my hands. this industry is too reliant on romantics like me. but it beats the hell out of cable, and I’ll argue that any day of the week; I’m paying way too much for that shit as it is. really. it’s embarrassing how much I pay for television service. you’d be shocked and appalled.
maybe, if I get on them and tell them I wanna cancel, they will lower my rates. but probably, they’ll say, “alright” and charge me an extra twenty bucks on the way out the door for the remote you rent that I melted by leaving it on my heater. oh yes, I melt a lot of things on my heater. you should see my shirts.

Jon Stewart is kind of missing the point hard on the pirate story out of Somalia. he’s made note of the fact that the pirates hijacked a ship full of food aid. and so fuck them, they’re only serving warlords who command armies of children.
what he didn’t mention that the three pirates who died in fuckin’ spectacular fashion were all teenagers, and drug addicts according to what I’ve read, and they spent their short lives in Thunderdome. in a place solely ruled by the gun. if you think about it in such terms, there are very few places in the world like that. a completely failed state, no authority other than to who you serve. your two options are a vicious Islamic militia and a nascent government that only commands a few blocks in Mogadishu. that’s fucking ridiculous.
think of the problem that that place creates for that region. there are pirate havens there. pirate havens.

anyway.
they released the Bears schedule today. lets see if we can’t dig it up …
yes. they got Baltimore and Philadelphia this year. I wonder if those games could be got.

and.
I bought train tickets to NY coming up in two weeks: this will be fun with a capital Fuh. this three day, two night trip may turn out to be my summer vacation. so I had better make it count.

2 comments so far

  1. Anonymous on

  2. ashley on

    going to new york? awesome!

    I like your tribute to the hot dog guy.


Comments are closed.