navigating by fast food

edward hopper

I can’t wait for the summer. who else can’t wait for summer? raise your hand.

tonight at work was awful, the computer system dumped out, kept us there until midnight. my boss about blew a blood vessel in his head. when he gets upset, it doesn’t take much for him to get physical with his mouse, or a lamp, or the keyboard. I don’t have much use for that. fairly, it’s deadline work, and you’ve got people breathing down your neck if you fuck up. a little high stress. but still.
like, for instance, I once threw a style manual in frustration. something failed on me, or I lost a lot of work, and I grabbed the nearest book and tossed it over my shoulder. “fuck.” but as soon as the book left my hand, I felt like an asshole.
I can’t tell if he feels that way or not.

I bought a couple of albums at a used record store yesterday in Arlington. it’s the only place I know in Arlington, it’s on the main drag there. near a Whole Foods, where the world goes to feel good about buying expensive groceries. not far from the river. 
at the store I found a hits compilation by Toots and the Maytals and the soundtrack to ‘The Harder They Come’. this disc was easy the smartest $10 dollars I’ve spent in a while, the occasional breakfast burrito purchase withstanding.
the movie comes across as pretty ridiculous, but, shit, it was shot in Jamaica in the early 70s. so you know they totally crushed ass on the soundtrack.
so, yes. check it out.

5 comments so far

  1. Ashley L. on

    I love Whole Foods for their butcher shop–they have nice meat and will cut it however you want it.

  2. matt on

    I love it for the feeling of shared social responsibility I get from shopping there.

  3. Ashley L. on

    My boyf made meatballs a few weeks ago and they ground up some pork for us. They were amazing meatballs. Plus they had free plates of thanksgiving food in November.

  4. matt on

    that’s fucking fantastic, ashley, about the meatballs. it’s great to hear from you.

  5. Ashley L. on

    Just trying to take the piss out re: Whole Foods. The meatballs were fantastic. Will you email me so I have your email again? I lost it.


Comments are closed.