return to space mountain

here’s a picture of the tarantula nebula. yes.

its-a-big-universe-man

.
I’m listening to a song called “postcards from Italy” by Beirut. I used to own this album. I gave it to Alisha two years ago. she was pumped, I recall.
it’s a good album, especially, considering, that the whole thing is structured around trumpets and ukeleles, the two instruments the band leader plays. but he plays them well.
so I gave the album away. I remember, actually where I was when I decided to do that: downtown Columbus, Ohio. I was driving back to Indiana from DC, got stuck in traffic on the interstate and got off and tried to find my way around the snarl. didn’t work. got stuck in more traffic in the city. it was summer, and it was hot, and there was a festival that I drove into. streets blocked off.
it’s a really pretty song, and I’d put a link to it on here but no one’s gonna click on it anyway — but shit, if you listen to it too much, it’ll make me you want to jump off a goddamn bridge. not because it’ll drive you crazy. it’s just melodramatic. it’s too weepy. I’m not this angst-ridden all the time, but it sure made me feel that way. but it’s just a pretty song …
eh, it’s not the song that’s melodramatic, it’s me.

anyway, on with news, a subject wherein I don’t trip all over myself. I’m not gonna bother with the transitions tonight, or the weak subheads. just look at this shit:
Secret Order Lets U.S. Raid Al Qaeda
“The United States military since 2004 has used broad, secret authority to carry out nearly a dozen previously undisclosed attacks against Al Qaeda and other militants in Syria, Pakistan and elsewhere, according to senior American officials.”
that’s some pretty big news. you better click on it, you fucking dirtbag. no, don’t look around for your friend; I’m talking to you.
anyway, we didn’t get it into tomorrow’s paper, but then again, we don’t get in much. and if you’re reading your tiny local newspaper for your world news updates, you’re either elderly, or slow. or both.
annnd, a judge today told the Bush administration that it’s internal emails aren’t protected from eventual public record by executive priviledge. so they can’t delete them, the bastards.
it isn’t wise to assume that because someone guards their privacy closely that they are therefore guilty of a crime. but this isn’t an indivual we’re talking about, it’s the executive branch, and I don’t understand why they’re so concerned with keeping their records sealed. is it that the legal policy makers within Bush’s White House are really that concerned about cementing the idea of a strong executive? and if so, why is transparency so adverse to that? or have they been pulling off all sorts of bullshit in the last eight years?
all of this could be nothing. I kind of hope so. the adult in me doesn’t want to be reading about morally  questionable scandals perpetrated by this administration for the next decade. but the salivating, bored lunatic in me can’t wait for these stories’ inevitable release. I got a lot of growing up to do.

1 comment so far

  1. ashley on

    have you always been into astronomy?

    The picture is, in fact, strikingly beautiful.


Comments are closed.