those sons of bitches

I’m up at 3 am listening to Sister Nancy songs.

so in the last week, the McCain campaign has come on pretty goddamned strong. since the GOP convention, they’ve pulled even, or ahead, according to the polls I’ve seen.
this has nothing to do with the quality of the McCain/Palin ticket. in fact, Sarah Palin can eat my shit. but they’re winning.
how?
if, Jesus, if we spend the next two fucking months talking about lipstick and pigs … well, then, I’m not going to declare anything, because I know we will. so much for issues. instead, we’re gonna talk about McCain Street USA and how Palin stood up to earmarks and said “no!” to unnecessary government spending. speaking of which, did you hear about how she opposed the Bridge to Nowhere? yeah. she wanted nothing to do with that federal money. Sarah Palin doesn’t take earmarks. oh, and while we’re talking politics, did you hear that that muslim Barack Obama wants to teach kindergarteners sex ed? it’s true. would you like to watch a factual video documenting this, prepared by the McCain campaign? yeah, can you believe that shit? that’s fucking disgusting.

this shit has to stop. really. this ‘pull the campaign into the mud’ bullshit has to end. are we not better than this? does the campaign really have to be about personalities instead of issues, like McCain’s campaign manager says? really? doesn’t anyone realize how fucking awful that sounds? the economy’s in the tank and going farther south fast, the entire world hates us, we’re gonna be in Iraq well into 2009 at least, Afghanistan has turned into an utter disaster, the Russians are landing long-range bombers in Venezuela, the federal government just scrambled to pull off an unprecedented bailout of failed banks so we don’t all lose our homes, suddenly the only answer to the growing energy crisis is to immediately open up offshore drilling to INSANELY wealthy oil companies as soon as fucking possible, and McCain, a senator who has solidly supported many — no, most — of “Dim” George Bush’s policies, has usurped Obama as the candidate of “change.” the incumbent party candidate is doing this.
and how did he do this? simple! he said “change” a bunch during his convention speech.
… what the fuck!!??
I know I’m always incredibly pessimistic about politics, about the intelligence of the average US voter, but it’s not like I want to be right. I don’t look forward to being let down.
BUT: I remember four years ago, thinking, “there’s no fucking way this country is stupid enough to vote Bush into a second term in the White House. no way.”
and then, the campaigns, and the media, talked about nothing but flip flopping and gay marriage and swift boats, as if these buzzwords and non-issues had ANY goddamned place in the runup to the election of arguably the most important political office in the world. and then the big night came, and I had a bunch of people over to my apartment and it started off good and fun and I got drunk.
and as the night wore on I sobered up. and then Bush won Ohio after Karl Rove convinced every stupid asshole in the Buckeye state that they were on the verge of being overrun by San Francisco faggots bent on matrimony.

and viola. shitty politics work. I hate it, but it’s true. these motherfuckers will say anything to win.
presently, the McCain campaign wants an apology for lipstick on a pig.
here we go again.

3rd edit: I can’t believe I actually linked to a Andrew Sullivan article. it was right here, but I went back and read it again and read what I wrote, and then my self respect kicked in, and I deleted it. “patience and steel”? what the fuck does that mean?

2nd edit: I know I go back and forth on this constantly, just this weekend I was talking to Spencer and told him that even considering everything above, I think Obama’s going to win. he said, “a couple of months ago, you were convinced McCain is going to win.” see? I can’t plant my feet on anything these days. so I’m sticking with it: Obama is going to win.

