bullfight again

this post is going to take me forever to write.
like, for instance, that first line took me about five minutes to get over. then I started listening very intently to what Rod Stewart and “you wear it well” had to say. and if you aren’t reading between the lines on that statement there, I’m not even going to acknowledge it.

so. the bullfight went down this weekend. and it went down hard.
to illustrate:

this bull actually won the fight. seriously. I’m sure they shotgunned his ass afterward, but the matadors couldn’t kill him. after this, no one else would get in with him, and it was driven out of the ring. word.

when this happened, I was working on getting some Peanut M&Ms. looked up at the last minute. good eye!

this asshole goes by la Pana.

these three are photos professionally shot by the guy at work. he sold them to the AP, and the Mexicali paper had him (the second one) on huge sports front spread, even over their own guy. they are reprinted here without his permission, so I guess this is copyright infringement. sorry. his name is Todd Krainin.

and these next three, these are from me.



our view.

what I look like if you want to see directly into the soulless pits that are my nostrils.


Greg, thinking of something funny to say. he just got hired on at a job in Houston. go Greg, go.


anyway, this one was a lot more chaotic. and expensive. cost me ten bucks to get in. but it was warmer. sat on the sun side. every view is a decent view, even way up where we were. la Pana, the old man, was apparently hot shit in the bullfighting world back in his younger days; now, he’s a name you pay to see. like if Scotty Pippen were going to be signing autographs at a sporting goods store at the mall? I’d go. also: I say Pip just cause it could happen. I could see someone like Jalen Rose pulling that shit.

anyway, the event ended when a drunk asshole fell six or seven rows into my back. well, not really. I saw him coming, and kind of slowed him down/stopped him, but either way, it coincided with the last bull being killed, and it seemed poetic in a very poorly-developed-metaphor sort of way. when I caught him, this guy – rich, charro type, his wife and daughters were wearing cowboy boots and lots of jewelry – was bleeding from his head and had a very shocked look on his face. the stairs are out to get you, and when you factor in the cheap beer he probably drank and a traditionally Mexican lack of safety precautions (no handrails), they’ll burn your ass up if you don’t watch yourself.
so people swarmed, and someone was yelling in Spanish what I would assume was “don’t move him,” cause his head was twisted up something awful, and the paramedics showed up. he kicked over my beer, but I decided to let it slide and slipped away. here’s to hoping it was only a concussion, old man.

so, to recap: saw a bullfight. saw a couple of matadors get lit up. saw a bull win. caught a tumbling man. took some weak pictures. anything else?
no?

3 comments so far

  1. Rick on

    i spoke with a man from charlottesville. he was asking about a matt mcmullan. i told him i had no clue who that was.

  2. Anonymous on

    HAPPY BIRDAY YOU FOOL! remember combo birthday parties in the backyard with tball and relay races? next year we’re having one.

  3. Anonymous on

    i forgot to wish you happy birthday. i am sorry. happy belated birthday.

    i hope that you will be in valpo for a little while before moving on. that way you’ll be close enough to chicago that we can have interstate sex. hot.


Comments are closed.